Guacamole

My avocado love affair – continued!

I don’t remember the first time I tasted guacamole, but I do remember the moment when I was told how to make a proper one. I met a lovely Mexican girl from Guadalajara during one of New Year’s Eve parties, where she prepared absolutely amazing guacamole. She told me that the key ingredient (apart from the ripe avocado!!!) is lime juice.

Avocado seems to be a very sensitive (or should I say temperamental?) fruit that is unripe on one day and gets bad the next day. I tend to buy it at a reliable source (for me that would be Fallon & Byrne in Dublin) and eat within a couple of days. For guacamole, avocado has to be ripe enough so that it can be crushed with a fork – no blenders and food processors!!!

Guacamole

  • 2 ripe avocados (preferably hass variety)
  • 1 vine tomato (or 5-8 cherry tomatoes) finely chopped
  • half a small onion finely chopped 
  • juice of half a lime
  • sea salt and black pepper
  • chili & coriander optional 

Crush the avocado with a fork, chop onion, tomatoes, chili and coriander (if using) and add to avocados. Squeeze juice of half a lime and season with salt and pepper. I like it salty, but it’s up to personal preferences. It’s very easy to make, mess free and so delicious! Serve it with nachos (baked with cheese for few minutes if you don’t count calories!)

It’s a perfect snack for a party and it’s easy to half/double/triple in size!

I don’t think I’ll ever make a good picture of guacamole… even though it looks beautifully colourful in real life, for some reasons it does not looks good on camera!

Leave a Reply

